Welcome to Trinity County Appraisal District

The provisions of the Texas Property Tax Code govern the legal, statutory, and administrative requirements of the appraisal district. Members of the Board of Directors are elected by the taxing units within the boundaries of Trinity County and must live within the district two years prior to serving on the board. The Chief Appraiser is appointed by the Board of Directors and is the chief administrator of the appraisal district. The appraisal district is responsible for local property tax appraisal and exemption administration. The local taxing units set a tax rate based on your property tax appraisal issued by the appraisal district. The Trinity County Appraisal District maintains approximately 28,700 parcels for the entities listed below with property types consisting of residential, commercial, business, utilities and pipelines. 

2013 Values
Entity Market Value   Net Taxable Value
City of Groveton 41,441,780 28,251,480
City of Trinity 107,306,181 78,701,175
Trinity County 1,555,266,368 710,916,702
Trinity Hospital District 844,570,807 481,209,417
Westwood Shores MUD 86,784,185 82,142,014
Apple Springs ISD 163,515,642 39,314,836
Centerville ISD 145,149,981 30,193,834
Groveton ISD 733,146,294 260,614,359
Kennard ISD 9,612,307 865,781
Trinity ISD 503,886,506 322,592,989


Ratio Study Analysis 2011 

The property value study (PVS) is conducted by the State Comptroller's Office in which they estimate the taxable property value in each school district to measure the performance of appraisal districts. If the appraisal district is within a 5 percent margin the State Comptroller will certify the local value to the Commissioner of Education. The findings of the study are used in the school funding formula for state aid. Trinity County Appraisal District has received local value for Apple Springs ISD, Centerville ISD, and Groveton ISD. Trinity ISD is currently under appeal as of April 2012.


Apple Springs ISD .97
Centerville ISD .97
Groveton ISD .98
Trinity ISD N/A



Exemption Application Information

The district has various exemptions that taxpayers may qualify for such as the residential homestead exemption. You may only apply for the residence homestead exemption on one property in a tax year. A homestead may include up to 20 acres of land used primarily for residential purposes. To qualify for a homestead exemption, you must own and reside in the home on January 1st of the year you are applying for the exemptions. The age 65 or older and disability exemption includes a school tax limitation or tax ceiling. Some taxing units, such as county and cities, have optional exemptions and tax ceiling limits as well. The filing period for these exemptions is between January 1st and April 30th. You may file for a late homestead exemption if you file no later than one year after the date taxes become delinquent. There is also a transfer of tax limitation or tax ceiling certificate used to transfer your tax ceiling amount to the new county you will be residing in.